The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
A wide variety of news sources are available to University of Alabama faculty and students. Below are some of the more commonly used sources. A more comprehensive guide to sources is available from Gorgas Library's "Current Newspaper Content" guide.
The Law Library provides institutional access to the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Additional Instructions for setting up those accounts are available in the navigational tabs to the left and via the Law Library's FAQ answers.
You can use ProQuest Newspaper to find PDF versions of roughly 2,400 full-text articles articles from major newspapers, as well as full-text articles from almost 360 magazines, from around the world. We also provide access to ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which contains PDF versions of articles from newspapers dating back to the 19th century, with most titles in the collection containing digital reproduction of every page from every issue. Lastly, we provide access to ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent. This is an excellent resource for those searching for PDFs of articles from The New York Times that were released from 2008-present. Note: there is a 3-month embargo for recent articles.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover indexing for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today from 1995 to present. It also includes complete coverage of the Christian Science Monitor and selective full-text coverage of The Los Angeles Times, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, and newswires.
JSTOR provides access to PDF versions of full-text articles of magazines. To search within their magazine collection, make sure you are searching within journals.
The Chronicle of Higher Education web site features the complete contents of the latest issue. The web site is updated throughout the day with the latest news in academia (no embargo of content). Also included are the text and associated commentary from the current print edition and a searchable archive of back issues.
E&E News provides daily news updates on a variety of environmental and energy policy topics as well as links to online publications from E&E Publishing. It also includes video clips and compiled reports on specific subjects.
The New York Times is accessible via Gale Academic Onefile and allows browsing by issue of the daily national edition of the NYT as far back as 1985 (no embargo on content). Full-text content does not include images. Advanced searching is available.
New York Times Digital Version is a digitized, page-image version of the New York Times, and provides access to news from 2008 - recent with a 3-month embargo.
New York Review of Books's website features the complete contents of the latest issue (no embargo of content) and archives of most issues as far back as 1963. Access includes NYR Daily and the ability to perform advanced search functions on current and archived issues.
Wall Street Journal Digital Version
Wall Street Journal Digital Version is a digitized, page-image version of the Wall Street Journal, providing access to news from 2008 - recent, with a 3-month embargo.
Tuscaloosa News provides access via NewsBank and allows users to browse recent issues (with no embargo delay on content) as far back as 2008. Advanced search options are available and all content is full-text, but will not include images.
Birmingham News provides access via NewsBank to many issues from 1993 through the present. Unfortunately, not all issues are visible or available, however, the content that is available is full-text but does not include images.