The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
The Law Library has a wide variety of resources and services that support School of Law faculty with research, scholarship, and teaching. This guide collects many of our offerings in one location to make connecting with librarians, accessing information, and utilizing the library as easy as possible.
If you have any questions, please reach out to your Faculty Services Liaison, Lauren Hash.
Lean Library Access is a browser extension that works with our University of Alabama libraries' systems to give you seamless access to library resources when working away from campus. Once downloaded, you'll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that the University of Alabama can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Lean Library also directs you to an open-access version of what you are looking for it it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
Publication Finder, on the main library's page, allows you to search Gorgas' journal and eBook collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
ProQuest Newspapers provides access to full-text versions of many U.S. and international news sources. It includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, and many other newspapers and news wires. Please disregard the note about a discontinued database.
SmartCILP is an essential current awareness tool for legal scholars, providing tailored alerts delivered via email as a personalized supplement to the weekly CILP issue. After setting up a SmartCILP profile, individuals will begin to receive a weekly notification that lists the most recent material available within their chosen subjects or journals. All SmartCILP notifications include direct full-text linking to HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.
A list of new books obtained by the library in the last two months.
The Alabama Law Scholarly Commons is the digital repository for the University of Alabama School of Law. The Scholarly Commons collects, preserves, and promotes access to the scholarship of Alabama Law. The repository is a service of the Bounds Law Library as part of its mission to promote research, scholarship, and access to legal information.
Gorgas is home to many resources that cannot be found here at Bounds Law Library. Once on their landing page, the most useful links to get you started on research would be "Databases," which will lead you to a list of nearly 700 databases that cover a wide range of subjects, and "Publication Finder," which will allow you to search through all of the publications that Gorgas has to offer.
You can also use the search bar to find resources, as well as the libraries catalog and the "Research Tools" tab.