The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
History Vault is a collection of primary source materials pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era. This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in three subject categories: 1) Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; 2) Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War; and 3) International Relations and Military Conflicts.
ProQuest Legislative Insight is an excellent resource as it includes legislative histories that can easily link users to full-text publications of resources incorporated into individual histories, including: Public Laws; all versions of enacted and related bills; Congressional Record excerpts; and Committee Hearings, Reports, and Documents. Other materials that can be found include Committee Prints, CRS Reports, and miscellaneous Congressional publications. This includes materials dating back to 1924.
For more information, please check out our How to Use ProQuest Legislative Insight LibGuide.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight is very similar to ProQuest Legislative Insight, offering U.S. federal administrative law histories beginning in 1936, organized by federal statute and Executive Order.
For more information, please check out our How to Use ProQuest Regulatory Insight LibGuide.
HeinOnline is an excellent resource to find more historical materials. Among its collection, you can check out "State Statutes: A Historical Archive," which includes more than 2.9 million pages of superseded statutes for all 50 states, with coverage dating back to 1719. You can also access their "U.S. Federal Legislative History Library," a collection of compiled federal legislative histories. There are also links to various Presidential Materials under "U.S. Presidential Library."
HeinOnline also has roughly 93,000 books scattered across their collection. Several of the topics with the largest selection that can be browsed are "Legal Classics," "World Constitution Illustrated," "Military and Government," "Criminal Justice & Criminology," "Intellectual Property," "Animal Studies: Welfare, Rights and Law," and "U.S. Supreme Court Library."
History Reference Source can be found on Gorgas' list of databases and features historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, including leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
Gale Primary Sources offers a comprehensive platform for research, enabling users to search multiple collections simultaneously. Several of the collections that can be accessed through this resource are historical in nature, such as "Eighteenth Century Collections Online" or "Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003," to name a few.
America: History & Life with Full Text provides historical and cultural coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Gale's product, The Making of Modern Law, can be found on both Bounds Law Library and Gorgas' list of databases. It is a searchable collection containing the complete text of more than 21,000 19th and early 20th century British and American legal treatises. To find it on Gorgas, look for Gale Primary Sources, there you will find a list of various primary source materials that are offered through Gale. They have the same Making of Modern Law pages that are offered through Bounds, however, they also offer The Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, which focuses on the first 90 years of the federal appellee court system's history. It contains materials spanning from 1891 to 1980 and provides access to nearly 2 million briefs, replies, appendices, memoranda, petitions, statements, transcripts, and more.
HathiTrust Digital Library provides users access to books and materials that are within the public domain, as well as some in-copyright materials, from a variety of sources. This resource is recommended as a starting point for older materials, such as historic materials that are pre-1930s, since they are more likely to be accessible, since they would be in the public domain.
LLMC Digital provides access to a searchable collection of some older government documents, however, while the collection is large, please note that the collection is eclectic and incomplete.