Locating Resources

Newspapers/Magazine Articles

For journal students, this suggested order of the checklist is based on Bluebook rules that often state a preference for certain formats when citing materials. Make sure to follow the Bluebook rules or your journal’s cite checking policies. 

This suggested order is based on trying to find recreations of the print newspapers/magazine article online, then moving to ILL.  

1. Check ProQuest Newspaper/Magazine
2. Check ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent
3. Check ProQuest Historical Newspapers
4. Check Newspaper Source
5. Check JSTOR
6. Use this form for ILL

Below is more explanation about the sources in the checklist above. 

ProQuest Newspaper/Magazine

Provides access to PDF versions of full-text articles in 2,392 major newspapers from around the world. Also provides access to PDF versions of full-text articles in 358 magazines from around the world. 

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent

This resource provides PDF versions of The New York Times (2008-recent; 3-month embargo). 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Provides PDF versions of articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue.

Newspaper Source

Provides cover-to-cover indexing for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today from 1995 to the present. Also includes complete coverage of the Christian Science Monitor and selective full-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, and newswires.

JSTOR

Provides access to PDF versions of full-text articles of magazines (search within journals).