The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
For journal students, this suggested order of the checklist is based on Bluebook rules that often state a preference for certain formats when citing materials. Make sure to follow the Bluebook rules or your journal’s cite checking policies.
This suggested order is based on trying to find recreations of the print regulation online, then moving to ILL.
Below is more explanation about the sources in the checklist above.
Provides access to PDF versions of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the Federal Register (FR).
You will be able to find the CFR dating back to when it began in 1938 and can browse by year, title, part or section, as well as by using the CFR citation locator to find a specific regulation.
You will also be able to search the Federal Register back to 1936, when it was established.
Provides access to PDF versions of the CFR from 1996-present and the Federal Register from 1936-present, as well as links to the eCFR and FederalRegister.gov. These can found either by browsing "A-Z" or browsing by "Category" and selecting "Regulatory Information"
Provides access to the electronic version of the CFR with links to the published edition of the CFR. Note that the version of the CFR on eCFR is the most recent version so, if you're looking for a historic version, you may want to check another source.
Provides access to the electronic version of the Federal Register. Includes PDF versions of each regulation and a citation to the CFR.
Provides access to PDF versions of regulatory histories associated with public laws and/or executive orders. Also provides access to the Federal Register (rules/proposed rules, notices, presidential documents, and unified agendas) and the CFR. Using the advanced search tab may be the best option if you are unsure about where to begin, however, if you have an idea of what you're looking for, it may be best to select "Search by Number" and start there.
"Search by Number"
For more information, please check out our How to Use ProQuest Regulatory Insight LibGuide.
Provides access to PDF versions of the Alabama Administrative Code, the Alabama Administrative Monthly, and proposed rules. Simply select "Administrative Code" and it will redirect you where you need to go.