The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
For journal students, this suggested order of the checklist is based on Bluebook rules that often state a preference for certain formats when citing materials. Make sure to follow the Bluebook rules or your journal’s cite checking policies.
This suggested order is based on trying to find recreations of the print legislative material online, then moving to ILL.
For Slip/Session Laws:
For other legislative materials:
Below is more explanation about the sources in the checklist above.
Provides access to PDF versions of Statutes at Large (U.S. public and private laws, beginning with the 1st Congress (1789-91) until the most recent volume in 2017). Anything more recent than 2017 is available but it hasn't been published in the "U.S. Statutes at Large" link. Hein also provides access to PDF versions of Acts of Alabama, beginning with the 1st General Assembly, 1st Session (1818). You can find them in the "Session Laws Library"
Provides free public access to PDF versions of individual U.S. public/private laws dating back to 1995, as well as Statutes at Large, beginning with the 82nd Congress (1951-53). You can use the advanced search option to refine by collection Statutes at Large or the browse tab.
Provides access to PDF versions of Acts of Alabama (Alabama session laws) dating back to late 1980s and a link to older session laws enacted between 1819 and 1901.
Provides access to PDF versions of many 19th-century state session laws.
Provides access to a searchable collection of PDF versions of some older legal titles and government documents, including state codes and session laws.
Provides access to indexing and abstracts for all congressional publications and PDF versions of:
Easiest way to search is likely by selecting advanced search and narrowing results as needed.
Provides access to legislative histories that can easily link users to full-text publications of resources incorporated into individual histories, including:
Can also find Committee Prints, CRS Reports, and miscellaneous Congressional publications, including materials dating back to 1924.
Using the advanced search tab may be the best option if you are unsure about where to begin, however, if you have an idea of what you're looking for, it may be best to select either "Popular Law Names," located below the search bar that pulls up a list of popular law titles that you can search through, or "Search by Number."
As you can see, by selecting "Search by Number," you will be able to search for histories by options like Bill Number, Statutes at Large, or Public Law Number, making it easier to find the resource.
For more information, please check out our How to Use ProQuest Legislative Insight LibGuide.
Provides access to PDF versions of:
For example, look at "H.R.7024 - Tax Relief for American Families and Workers Act of 2024." If you look at a bill, either House or Senate, you can immediately see an overview of the bill, such as who sponsored the bill, what committee it was in, latest action, and more at the top of the page.
If you look below the overview, you will find multiple tabs that have a plethora of information, such as:
"Actions," which is essentially a timeline of the bill and what actions have been taken so far.
"Titles," which lays out various official and short titles of the bill.
"Committees" it was part of and worked on.
"Related bills"
You will also be able to find the text of the bill, any amendments that were made, and cosponsors, depending on the bill.
Provides access to PDF versions of many legislative materials (Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings, CRS Reports, Committee Prints, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set to name a few). Look for "U.S. Congressional Documents" and "U.S. Congressional Serial Set" to get started.
GovInfo.gov is also a fantastic source to find the Congressional Record. It has the Bound version from 1873-2016, which is the most recent published version. It also has the Daily edition from 1994-present.