The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
A wide variety of news sources are available to University of Alabama faculty and students. Below are some of the more commonly used sources. A more comprehensive guide to sources is available from Gorgas Library's "Current Newspaper Content" guide.
The Law Library provides institutional access to both the New York Time, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Additional Instructions for setting up those accounts are available in the navigational tabs to the left and via the Law Library's FAQ answers.
The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue. The Web site is updated throughout the day with the latest news in academia (no embargo of content). Also included are the text and associated commentary from the current print edition and a searchable archive of back issues.
Daily news updates on a variety of environmental and energy policy topics as well as links to online publications from E&E Publishing. Also includes video clips and compiled reports on specific subjects.
Access via Gale Academic Onefile allows browsing by issue of the daily national edition of the NYT as far back as 1985 (no embargo on content). Full-text content does not include images. Advanced searching is available.
Digitized, page-image version of the New York Times, 2008 - recent with a 3-month embargo.
The NYRB's website features the complete contents of the latest issue (NO EMBARGO of content) and archives of most issues as far back as 1963. Access includes NYR Daily and the ability to perform advanced search functions on current and archived issues.
Digitized, page-image version of the Wall Street Journal, 2008 - recent with a 3-month embargo.
Access via NewsBank allows users to browse recent issues (with no embargo delay on content) as far back as 2008. Advanced search options are available. Content is full-text, but will not include images.
Access via NewsBank to many issues from 1993 through the present. Not all issues are visible or available. Content is full-text but does not include images.
The easiest way to remotely access most newspapers and magazines through the University of Alabama Libraries is to visit Gorgas Library's landing page and using "Publication Finder."
Once you've selected "Publication Finder," you will be able to look through all of the publications that Gorgas offers. If you have a specific publication in mind, enter it into the search bar and click search. When you find the result you are looking for, click on it and it will take you to a page like the one showing the New York University Law Review below. For access to the publication itself, follow the link found below "Full Text Access."
Since the library subscribes to many services, there may be times you will have more than one choice for how to access the full-text. If that happens, you may select the option you prefer to access the full-text, as you can see with the New York Times below. Note that not every option offers the same coverage so be careful when selecting which source you wish to access.
Lastly, if you are looking for a journal but do not know which you are looking for, publication finder also offers browse by subject.
As always, you are welcome and encouraged to contact us with any questions that may arise.
To access resources offered through Bounds, is to hover over the "Research" tab on the main landing page and selecting "Databases." This will route you to a page where you can find all of the databases offered to you through the law library.
There is also a short list of databases on the main landing page that includes several of the more utilized resources.