Alabama Judicial and Legislative Resources

The 11th Circuit was established in 1981 and has jurisdiction over federal cases originating in Alabama, Florida and Georgia. It oversees a circuit of nine district courts with each state dividing into Northern, Middle and Southern Districts. Users can use this site to find information, no matter if they are an attorney, a juror, or someone looking to represent themselves in court. Some of the information and documents made available to the public through the site include:

• News and Announcements
• Attorney information, which includes information for attorneys, such as Admissions, Renewal of Bar Membership and Pro Hac Vice Admission
• Oral Arguments Calendar and Recording
• Pattern Jury Instructions
• Rules & Procedures
• Forms & Information
• En Banc Matters
• Opinions 
  • The site has published opinions dating back to January 1995 and unpublished opinions back to April 18, 2005
  • Users can find these opinions either by selecting the "Opinions/Oral Arguments" tab or, if the user is on the Circuit's home page, scrolling down until they see the link titled "Opinions Main Page"
  • Both published and unpublished opinions will offer a search box that looks like the example below that will allow users to use various options to search for a case

The Northern District of Alabama covers the Northern third of the state. Below is a map of the district and the counties that are included. 

Users can also use the site to find information such as:

• Local Rules
• General Orders
• Alternative Dispute Resolution Plan
• Information for attorneys, such as Registration, Admission, and Policies and Procedures
• Information about jury duty, such as Jury Plans and Juror Handbooks, the Juror Qualification Questionnaire, and information about recent potential jury scams
• Several different sample forms
• Information for Pro Se parties, such as a Pro Se guide, examples of several different complaint forms, and information on summons

The Middle District of Alabama District Court serves Alabama's Middle District. Here is a map that shows what counties fall under the Middle District.

The site includes information, such as:

• Information for attorneys, such as:
  • the Attorney Toolkit
  • an online repository that provides information, forms and other resources to assist in practicing before the bar
  • Forms
  • Admissions Info
  • Rules, Orders, and Procedures
• Information for those looking to represent themselves, including:
  • resources like Pro Se Forms
  • the Pro Se Assistance Program 
  • a Legal Dictionary 
  • Local Rules
  • a link to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
• Information for jurors like how jurors are selected and what to expect if selected for jury duty

Below is a map of the counties included in the Southern District of Alabama District Court. 

The site includes information, such as:

• Local Rules and General Orders
• Forms
• Fee Schedule
• Information on the Criminal Justice Act
• News and Announcements
• Information for those selected for Jury Duty, such as Jury Plan and Handbooks for both Trial and Grand Juries
• Information for attorneys, such as Admissions and Pattern Jury Instructions
• Information for those looking to represent themselves, such as the Pro Se Litigant Handbook and Local Rules
• Various sample forms