The University of Alabama School of Law
The University of Alabama School of Law
Effectively using electronic resources is one of the most critical skills for legal researchers. This guide page provides you with the basic information necessary to access three of the most important electronic resources available to Alabama Law students: Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw.
While Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw will be the primary legal databases you use during law school, there are a number of other databases that can help you in your research. A list of recommended databases is available from the Law Library's database page.
Most of these resources will not require a login when accessed from on campus. When access from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Law School credentials.
If you encounter technical difficulties access library databases and resources, contact a reference law librarian at the circulation desk at the law library or email a reference librarian.
Bloomberg Law is a subscription-based online legal research service including state and federal primary legal sources. Exclusive content includes Bloomberg publications, legal and business analytics, and a robust federal docket searching and document requesting service.
To register for access to Bloomberg Law, go to bloomberglaw.com/activate and enter the personal code you were provided in your orientation packet.
Follow the on-screen prompts to register, including entering your official law school email address, as well as your school affiliation, and anticipated date of graduation.
After registration, you will receive an email with an activation link to verify your email address. Once you have clicked that link, you will receive an email with your username and temporary password. After that, you can log into Bloomberg Law and start researching.
If you do not have an access code, contact a reference law librarian at the circulation desk at the law library or email a reference librarian for assistance obtaining a new one.
For technical assistance, email Stefanie (Slavens) Schuette, Esq. or contact the 24/7 Help Desk at +1-888-560-BLAW (2529) or blawhelpdesk@bna.com
Lexis+ (formerly Lexis Advanced) is the new 2020 iteration of the comprehensive online legal research platform offered by LexisNexis. In addition to robust research capabilities in primary U.S. legal materials, Lexis+ includes a variety of exclusive content and tools including prominent treatises, citation and analytic tools, and practice-focused resources.
LexisNexis also features Lexis Classroom, an online course serviced used by some courses in the law school. Information about signing up for Lexis Classroom is available elsewhere in this guide.
If you do not have an access code, contact a reference law librarian at the circulation desk at the law library or email a reference librarian for assistance obtaining a new one.
Contact Kingsley C. Buitron, Esq. at Kingsley.buitron@lexisnexis.com or at 205-470-3924
For technical assistance, you can also call Lexis Customer Support at 800-45-LEXIS (800-455-3947)
Lexis Advance Quick Reference Guide
Lexis Advance Support and Training Videos
The current version of Westlaw - Westlaw Edge - is a comprehensive legal research platform that includes a broad collection of U.S. primary legal materials, secondary authorities, and exclusive tools and resources, including TWEN course pages.
Registering with Westlaw requires you to create a OnePass profile. A comprehensive guide to registering and managing your OnePass profile is available online.
If you do not have an access code, contact a reference law librarian at the circulation desk at the law library or email a reference librarian for assistance obtaining a new one.
Technical Support: 1-800-WESTLAW (1-800-937-8529)
Research Support: 1-800-REF-ATTY (1-800-733-2889) or via Live Chat while logged into Westlaw Edge.