Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Alabama School of Law
Bounds Law Library
Bounds Law Library
Bounds Law Library
Featured Books: August 2022
by Justin Huston on
A New Introduction to Legal Method
Paul Cliteur & Afshin Ellian
Call Number: K212 .C575 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
From publisher, "A New Introduction to Legal Method provides a comprehensive overview of legal science, and the scientific character of legal knowledge. In five chapters, the book analyses and explores: (i) legal methodology in general, the main features of different schools of thought, and the nature of science in general; (ii) American Realism, which offers an ideal starting point for law students to reflect on the material they are about to study critically; (iii) rationalism, empiricism, and logical positivism, in particular the work of Karl Popper; (iv) criticisms of essentialism; (v) the ideological and philosophical background of contemporary liberal interpretation. The inclusion of Dutch, French and German literature sources makes this law title differ from previous writings on legal science. This textbook is ideal for students of legal method, and will be of great interest to those studying legal science, jurisprudence, legal research and legal skills"
Hard-Nosed Advice from a Cranky Law Professor
Austen L. Parrish; Cristina C. Knolton; Lisa C. Dennis
Call Number: KF283 .P37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-01
From publisher, "Hard-Nosed Advice from a Cranky Professor is a must-read for any new law school student who wants to be successful both in and out of the classroom. The book provides advice from the most valuable source: the law professor. It gives a no-nonsense, hard-nosed approach to advising students on what they must do to succeed. The advice is provided in a light-hearted and humorous manner, which makes the book a quick and easy read for any law student. The book's practical, hands-on approach to learning helps students master the most essential skills needed in law school, including briefing cases, outlining, taking exams, meeting professor expectations, and many more. The authors provide step-by-step instructions and concrete examples to help students navigate each skill. The book's user-friendly style and wealth of examples are its greatest assets. In this new, updated edition, the authors enhance each topic by simplifying the approach even further and providing additional hypotheticals to turn the abstract into the concrete. The new version includes new examples of case briefing, outlining, exam writing, and bar essays. The new update also includes an entire new chapter dedicated to the skill of legal writing. In this new chapter, the authors transform a complicated writing course into a simple, step-by-step guide that makes legal writing attainable for any law student. With detailed explanations and examples, tips and insights, this book is a tool no first-year-law student should do without"
Cracking the Case Method, Legal Analysis for Law School Success
David Hunter; James Salzman; Durwood Zaelke
Publication Date: 2022-06-13
From publisher, "For about 150 years, law schools have relied on the Case Method to teach the skills and art of legal analysis to first-year law students. Yet many first-year students struggle academically. They do not struggle because they lack intellectual ability. Instead, they struggle because they are suddenly immersed in a unique and seemingly opaque educational process where nobody has concretely explained what they should try to learn, much less how to learn it. So these students are forced to try to understand their professors’ teaching methods on their own―a difficult task for many beginning students, even those who may “get it” but cannot articulate what “it” is."
Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond (with Video)
Steven Goode; Olin Wellborn III
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
From publisher, "Reading cases and statutes is challenging for students and attorneys. However, everybody can learn critical reading strategies and become effective legal readers and advocates. Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond identifies the reading strategies used by expert legal readers and presents the strategies in a systematic sequence. Critical Reading is written in an easy to read style with lots of examples."
What Every Law Student Really Needs to Know
Tracey E. George; Suzanna Sherry
Call Number: KF283 .G46 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
From publisher, "With the aim of decreasing students' anxiety and increasing their chances of achieving academic success, this book prepares students to succeed in their first year of law school."
A Weekly Guide to Being a Model Law Student
Publication Date: 2021-08-16
From publisher, "This book gives law students weekly checklists explaining the skills necessary to successfully navigate their first year of law school. Each chapter provides a checklist of things to do that week, such as briefing cases, going over notes, outlining classes, or doing practice questions. When a new concept is introduced, this book clearly explains the concept and its purpose and provides examples. Instead of merely providing advice, this book lays out a detailed plan for students to follow. It also includes a bank of over 100 short, medium, and long practice questions in six first year subjects."
Introduction to the Study and Practice of Law in a Nutshell
Call Number: KF273 .H38 2020
Publication Date: 2020-06-08
From publisher, "“There are two things wrong with almost all legal writing. One is style. The other is content.” Professor Fred Rodell, Yale, 1936. We can’t do much about content. You’ll have to know how the common law system works, how to read and brief cases, how to study and take exams, how to write and argue law and how lawsuits are tried. We can do something about style. There’s advice and illustrations. You’ll throw pots, working your first case, making your first argument, briefing cases, taking exams, and writing memos. This is not for the faint hearted nor is law school. Think like a lawyer. I won’t be a bore. I’ll tell jokes, some of which are actually funny. I’ll challenge you intellectually. Where does law come from? Should judges follow precedent? What if your client wants to pave Paradise and put in a parking lot? If you love ideas you’ll love this book and you’ll love law school. (If you love people you’ll love practice.)"
A Short and Happy Guide to Being a Law Student
Call Number: KF283 .F735 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
From publisher, "A Short & Happy Guide to Being a Law Student is a must-read whenever worry or doubt creep in. In this volume you will find essential wisdom for the study of law and life. Learn from the unprecedented ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year award how to be your best in and out of class, how to prepare for exams, how to succeed on exams, how to put your best foot forward in a job interview, how to find teachers to inspire you, what to do in classes that leave you uninspired, how to cope with stress and how to create value in everything you do."
Other law school success resources can be found on the
study aids library guide
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Resources for Finals
Featured Books - October
Wellness Week Resources in the Law Library
SCOTUS October 2022 Term - Law Library Resources
Access to Lexis Digital Library
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
View blog archive by month and year
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Powered by Springshare.
All rights reserved.
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.