Skip to Main Content
The University of Alabama School of Law WordmarkThe University of Alabama School of Law

Law Student Resources

Aspen Learning Library

Aspen Learning Library

Access & Instructions

Click the above link and log in with your Alabama Law username and password.

Personalize

By creating a personal account, you can take advantage of personalized options such as taking notes, highlighting text, and creating bookmarks. Creating a West Academic account allows you to take notes, highlight, save favorites, download titles for offline access, and more.

  1. Go to ebooks.aspenlaw.com
  2. Click ‘Login' or 'Register' to create your personal account
  3. Setup your account, sign in and verify your school email address

Note: Once your account is properly set up, you can log in independently from your school’s network without needing IP Access.

FAQs 

Do I have the option to print part or all of the books in my library?

You can print up to 30% of the book if you’re signed in with your personal account. To export your notes, click Export at the bottom of the Notes navigation pane.

When entering my personal login username, why don’t I have access to any books? 

Check that your school’s name appears at the top of the page after “You are logged into.” You have to first log in to the subscription before you can enter your personal login. It’s a two-step process.

Getting Help

Need help? Contact customer service at 877-234-1660 or email customer.service@wolterskluwer.com

CALI

What is CALI?

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts a library of over 1,000 interactive tutorials and quizzes written by law professors and geared toward law students. Most common law school course topics are covered. CALI also has textbooks that are free to download in PDF, Word, and eBook formats. CALI also has outlines. 

How do I access CALI?

  1. Point your browser to https://www.cali.org/
  2. The first time you visit, you will need to register an account. To do so, click on the “Register” option at the top right corner of the CALI homepage. Fill out the registration form, and enter the authorization code in the appropriate box. The Alabama Law CALI authorization code may be found in your orientation packet, on the cards in the CALI display box at the circulation desk, or by contacting Iain Barksdale.
  3. After you register, you will receive a confirmation email. Verify your registration and you should have full access to all CALI resources.
  4. After logging in, you should be able to select lessons from the main screen. A list of some suggested lessons for general law school success is included in this guide.

The resources below provide lessons. The resources below also provide an outline for most of the subject areas.

1L Courses

Upper-level Courses

Technical Questions?

You can ask a law librarian for help with this information.

Elgar Advanced Introductions: Law

Elgar Advanced Introductions: Law has titles that are stimulating and that thoughtfully introduce major fields in law. The titles are expertly written by the world's leading scholars. The titles are designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the issues associated with discrete subject areas.

Access & Instructions

Go to the Elgar Advanced Introductions: Law website (link above). While in the law school or law library, you will automatically have access to all available content. From off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Alabama Law username and password. You can also create an account to personalize your experience.

Creating an Account

Please visit the main Edward Elgar Publishing website.

A personal user account is required to use the personalized features such as

  • Save and tag content items, search results or book lists for future reference
  • Create alerts for new content added to the site
  • Select text in the books to annotate and save
  • Share your annotations with individuals or groups who also have access to the collection – an ideal way for instructors to highlight or comment on important text and share it with the class.

Who can create an account?

All individual users can create accounts. You do not need to have access to the content on www.advancedintros.com to create a user account.

How do I register for an account?

  • Click on the 'Not registered? Sign up link' at the top of the website.
  • Complete the form with your name, email address and password. Also, fill in the reCaptcha box (a test to filter out spambots)
  • You are now registered - it's that easy!

Technical Questions?

Please email elgaronlinesupport@e-elgar.co.uk

Lexis Digital Library Study Aids Collection

Lexis Digital Library includes online and app-based access to study aids in ebook format.

Access & Instructions

To get started, open LexisNexis Digital Library in your web browser. Or, install LexisNexis Digital Library app for iOS or Android.

Library code: alabamalaw

Enter your law school username and password.

Access & Instructions from Class of 2025

The law school class of 2025 will have to log in under the guest option while at the law school. Leave your browser and tab open for off-campus access. Also, be sure to export/print all notes before closing your book. You can ask a law librarian for help with this information.

Getting Started Videos

There are also getting started videos that are a great way to learn how Lexis Digital Library works. 

Below is a list of some of the study aids in Lexis Digital Library collection with an explanation

  • Mastering Series The Mastering Series is designed to provide law students the critical tools needed to easily and efficiently master the substance and content of various law school courses.
  • Questions and Answers Series Questions and Answers Series contains summaries, outlines, and explanations of legal concepts. It also has many other exam prep tools. 
  • Skills and Values Series "The Skills and Values Series is more practice focused while divided by legal subjects.
  • Understanding Series The Understanding Series provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects.

Need Help?

Lexis Digital Library Help

Contacting Technical Support

Call: (877) 516-8256

Email: DigitalLibrarySupport@lexisnexis.com

 

 

West Academic Study Aids Collection

West Academic Study Aids Collection include online and app-based access to ebooks and streaming lectures.

Access & Instructions

Go to the West Academic Study Aids Collection website. While in the law school or law library, you will automatically have access to all available content. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Alabama Law username and password. You can also create an account to personalize your experience.

Creating an Account

Creating a West Academic account allows you to take notes, highlight, save favorites, download titles for offline access, and more.

  1. Go to subscription.westacademic.com
  2. Click ‘Create an Account’ in the upper right-hand corner and follow the prompts
  3. Setup your account, sign-in and verify your school email address

Once your account is properly set-up, you can log-in independently from your school’s network.

Below is a list of some of the study aids in the West Academic Study Aids collection with an explanation

  • Acing Series The Acing Series provides a unique checklist approach paired with questions and problems to help learn and internalize legal subjects.
  • Black Letter Outlines Comprehensive outlines paired with "capsule summaries" - abbreviated outlines of key terms, topics, and doctrines - and keyed to major casebooks.
  • Concepts and Insights This series of mini-treatises by leading scholars provides concise conceptual overviews of major subjects, focusing on the principal legal issues and leading cases, supplemented by footnotes and references to other sources.
  • Concise Hornbooks Each text is authored by a prominent legal scholar, is lightly footnoted, and focuses on the core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter.
  • Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance) Practice exams and model answers indexed by topic that can be used to simulate a full exam or to focus on specific question types and topics.
  • Gilbert Law Summaries Detailed topical outlines paired with summary overviews, visual aids, exam tips, and sample questions and answers.
  • High Court Case Summaries The best-written case briefs available. Keyed to all major casebooks.
  • Hornbooks These titles explain the law in great depth and offer insights into a law's historical development, as well as contemporary issues and possible future development. By citing landmark cases, statutes and articles, they are more lengthy and comprehensive than other study materials and make both excellent reference guides and a great starting point for legal research. 
  • Law School Legends Audio Series Dynamic lectures from top law professors.
  • Law Stories Series Learn the stories behind the landmark cases.
  • Legalines Combines case briefs with a review of black-letter law principles, keyed to specific casebooks.
  • Nutshells The nutshell series covers nearly every legal course subject, with titles focusing on providing an overview of a specific area of the law. Nutshells are useful for gaining a broader, "big picture" view of a subject.
  • Office Hours Multimedia clarification of tough topics.
  • Quick Reviews Short, clear and concise substantive outlines.
  • Short Happy Guides Titles in this series explain legal principles, practices and policies in terms students can grasp quickly.
  • Sum & Substance Audio Series Titles in this series are streaming audio lectures by top doctrinal law faculty.

Resolving Error Messages

If you’re a student and your law school library provides your subscription, West Academic will need to verify your school email address.
Follow these steps

  1. Go to subscription.westacademic.com.
  2. Sign in (or create an account, if you haven’t already done so).
  3. In the top right, click Hello Firstname Lastname and select My Account from the drop-down list that appears.
  4. On the My Account page, in the My School/Organization section, enter your school email. If you already provided your email address and you see a message that email verification is pending, click to resend the verification email.
  5. Check your email and click the link in the email we send. The link opens a page where you sign in, and access is turned on.

Contacting Technical Support

Call:1-877-888-1330 (select option #4)
Email: support@westacademic.com.

West Academic FAQs

Additional FAQs from West Academic are available here.