Skip to Main Content
The University of Alabama School of Law WordmarkThe University of Alabama School of Law

Resources for Law Students

Helpful law school study aids listed by subject.

Study Aids Overview

Law School Study Aids and Supplements

There are a wide variety of study aids designed especially for law students. While the law library does not obtain copies of all law school study aids, many of the most popular titles are available in the collection.

Generally, the most recent edition of a specific title will be kept on reserve and circulate for 4 hours. Older editions are usually available in the general collection and will circulate for the normal loan period.

Students often develop their own preferences for specific study aids based on what works best for them. Your professors may also recommend or even require specific study aids in the course syllabus or may have specific titles placed on Course Reserve in the law library. 

If you are not sure which study aids may be most useful to you, you should consult the charts below.

In addition to print study aids, students often rely on CALI Lessons, Past Exams, and Course Reserve materials to help them study and prepare for their classes and exams.

Finally, the law library provides access to online study aids in the West Academic Study Aids Collection. More information about accessing this resource is available elsewhere in this guide.

Law School Study Aid Series

Focus: Case Briefs

High Court Case Summaries

This series from West Academic features case briefs and summaries keyed to major casebooks. Because these titles are keyed to specific casebooks, the Law Library does not actively collect High Court Case Summaries.

Legal Lines

This series from West Academic combines case briefs with a review of black-letter law principles, keyed to specific casebooks.

Focus: Comprehensive Student Treatises ("Hornbooks")

Aspen Treatise Series 

This series features straightforward explication of key legal concepts and analytical discussion of important case law, supplemented  with numerous examples and hypotheticals and generous footnotes, all authored by prominent experts. 

Concepts and Insights 

This series of mini-treatises by leading scholars provides concise conceptual overviews of major subjects, focusing on the principal legal issues and leading cases, supplemented by footnotes and references to other sources.

Concise Hornbooks 

Each text is authored by a prominent legal scholar, is lightly footnoted, and focuses on the core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter.

Examples and Explanations 

Each title offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow students to test their knowledge of key course topics.

Hornbooks 

Hornbook titles explain the law in great depth and offer insights into a law's historical development, as well as contemporary issues and possible future development. By citing landmark cases, statutes and articles, they are more lengthy and comprehensive than other study materials and make both excellent reference guides and a great starting point for legal research. 

Mastering Series 

Titles in the Mastering Series are designed to be easy-to-read, with key terms emphasized and explained in detail, while footnotes and citations to secondary sources are used only sparingly.

Understanding Series 

Titles in this series offer comprehensively annotated but concise analysis of the core subject. While not as expansive as Hornbooks, the Understanding series is useful for obtaining deeper, nuanced insight of a subject.

Focus: Outlines

Black Letter Outlines 

Comprehensive outlines paired with "capsule summaries" - abbreviated outlines of key terms, topics, and doctrines - and keyed to major casebooks.

Emanuel Law Outlines

Emanuel Legal Outlines pair detailed subject outlines with black letter principles, definitions, and examples and practice questions all cross-referenced to leading casebooks.

Gilbert Law Summaries 

Detailed topical outlines paired with summary overviews, visual aids, exam tips, and sample questions and answers.

Focus: Overviews

Law Stories Series

Learn the stories behind the landmark cases.

Nutshell Series 

The Nutshell series covers nearly every legal course subject, with titles focusing on providing an overview of a specific area of the law. Nutshells are useful for gaining a broader, "big picture" view of a subject.

Short & Happy Guides 

Titles in this series explain legal principles, practices and policies in terms students can grasp quickly.

Focus: Exam Prep

Acing Series

The Acing Series provides a unique checklist approach paired with questions and problems to help learn and internalize legal subjects.

Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance)

Practice exams and model answers indexed by topic that can be used to simulate a full exam or to focus on specific question types and topics.

Glannon Guides

Glannon Guides include multiple-choice questions with clear explanations of all answers.

Questions & Answers 

Each title in the Q & A Series is designed to help students with test prep and contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, a comprehensive “practice final exam,” and model answers and explanations for each question.

Acing Series

The Acing Series provides a unique checklist approach paired with questions and problems to help learn and internalize legal subjects.

Aspen Treatise Series 

This series features straightforward explication of key legal concepts and analytical discussion of important case law, supplemented  with numerous examples and hypotheticals and generous footnotes, all authored by prominent experts. 

Black Letter Outlines 

Comprehensive outlines paired with "capsule summaries" - abbreviated outlines of key terms, topics, and doctrines - and keyed to major casebooks.

Concepts and Insights 

This series of mini-treatises by leading scholars provides concise conceptual overviews of major subjects, focusing on the principal legal issues and leading cases, supplemented by footnotes and references to other sources.

Concise Hornbooks 

Each text is authored by a prominent legal scholar, is lightly footnoted, and focuses on the core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter.

Emanuel Law Outlines

Emanuel Legal Outlines pair detailed subject outlines with black letter principles, definitions, and examples and practice questions all cross-referenced to leading casebooks.

Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance) 

Practice exams and model answers indexed by topic that can be used to simulate a full exam or to focus on specific question types and topics.

Examples and Explanations 

Each title offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow students to test their  knowledge of key course topics.

Glannon Guides 

Glannon Guides include multiple-choice questions with clear explanations of all answers.

Gilbert Law Summaries 

Detailed topical outlines paired with summary overviews, visual aids, exam tips, and sample questions and answers.

High Court Case Summaries

This series from West Academic features case briefs and summaries keyed to major casebooks. The Law Library does not actively collect High Court Case Summaries.

Hornbooks 

Hornbook titles explain the law in great depth and offer insights into a law's historical development, as well as contemporary issues and possible future development. By citing landmark cases, statutes and articles, they are more lengthy and comprehensive than other study materials and make both excellent reference guides and a great starting point for legal research. 

Law Stories Series 

Learn the stories behind the landmark cases.

Legalines 

Combines case briefs with a review of black-letter law principles, keyed to specific casebooks.

Mastering Series 

Titles in the Mastering Series are designed to be easy-to-read, with key terms emphasized and explained in detail, while footnotes and citations to secondary sources are used only sparingly.

Nutshells 

The nutshell series covers nearly every legal course subject, with titles focusing on providing an overview of a specific area of the law. Nutshells are useful for gaining a broader, "big picture" view of a subject.

Questions & Answers 

Each title in the Q & A Series is designed to help students with test prep and contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, a comprehensive “practice final exam,” and model answers and explanations for each question.

Short & Happy Guides 

Titles in this series explain legal principles, practices and policies in terms students can grasp quickly.

Understanding Series 

Titles in this series offer comprehensively annotated but concise analysis of the core subject.  While not as expansive as Hornbooks, the Understanding series is useful for obtaining deeper, nuanced insight of a subject.

Carolina Academic Press / LexisNexis

Mastering Series

Titles in the Mastering Series are designed to be easy-to-read, with key terms emphasized and explained in detail, while footnotes and citations to secondary sources are used only sparingly.

Questions & Answers

Each title in the Q & A Series is designed to help students with test prep and contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, a comprehensive “practice final exam,” and model answers and explanations for each question.

Understanding Series

Titles in this series offer comprehensively annotated but concise analysis of the core subject.  While not as expansive as Hornbooks, the Understanding series is useful for obtaining deeper, nuanced insight of a subject.

West Academic

Acing Series

The Acing Series provides a unique checklist approach paired with questions and problems to help learn and internalize legal subjects.

Black Letter Outlines

Comprehensive outlines paired with "capsule summaries" - abbreviated outlines of key terms, topics, and doctrines - and keyed to major casebooks.

Concepts and Insights

This series of mini-treatises by leading scholars provides concise conceptual overviews of major subjects, focusing on the principal legal issues and leading cases, supplemented by footnotes and references to other sources.

Concise Hornbooks

Each text is authored by a prominent legal scholar, is lightly footnoted, and focuses on the core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter.

Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance) 

Practice exams and model answers indexed by topic that can be used to simulate a full exam or to focus on specific question types and topics.

Gilbert Law Summaries

Detailed topical outlines paired with summary overviews, visual aids, exam tips, and sample questions and answers.

Hornbooks

Hornbook titles explain the law in great depth and offer insights into a law's historical development, as well as contemporary issues and possible future development. By citing landmark cases, statutes and articles, they are more lengthy and comprehensive than other study materials and make both excellent reference guides and a great starting point for legal research. 

Law Stories Series

Learn the stories behind the landmark cases.

Legalines

Combines case briefs with a review of black-letter law principles, keyed to specific casebooks.

Nutshells

The nutshell series covers nearly every legal course subject, with titles focusing on providing an overview of a specific area of the law. Nutshells are useful for gaining a broader, "big picture" view of a subject.

Short & Happy Guides

Titles in this series explain legal principles, practices and policies in terms students can grasp quickly.

Wolters Kluwer

Aspen Treatise Series

Wolters Kluwer's comprehensive student treatise series features straightforward explication of key legal concepts, analytical discussion of important case law, with numerous examples and hypotheticals and generous footnotes, all authored by prominent experts. 

Emanuel Legal Outlines

Emanuel Legal Outlines pair detailed subject outlines with black letter principles, definitions, and examples and practice questions all cross-referenced to leading casebooks.

Examples and Explanations

Each title offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow students to test their  knowledge of key course topics.

Glannon Guides

Glannon Guides include multiple-choice questions with clear explanations of all answers.

West Academic Study Aids

Acing Series

The Acing Series provides a unique checklist approach paired with questions and problems to help learn and internalize legal subjects.

Black Letter Outlines

Comprehensive outlines paired with "capsule summaries" - abbreviated outlines of key terms, topics, and doctrines - and keyed to major casebooks.

Concepts and Insights

This series of mini-treatises by leading scholars provides concise conceptual overviews of major subjects, focusing on the principal legal issues and leading cases, supplemented by footnotes and references to other sources.

Concise Hornbooks

Each text is authored by a prominent legal scholar, is lightly footnoted, and focuses on the core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter.

Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance)

Practice exams and model answers indexed by topic that can be used to simulate a full exam or to focus on specific question types and topics.

Gilbert Law Summaries

Detailed topical outlines paired with summary overviews, visual aids, exam tips, and sample questions and answers.

High Court Case Summaries

The best written case briefs available. Keyed to all major casebooks.

Hornbooks

Hornbook titles explain the law in great depth and offer insights into a law's historical development, as well as contemporary issues and possible future development. By citing landmark cases, statutes and articles, they are more lengthy and comprehensive than other study materials and make both excellent reference guides and a great starting point for legal research. 

Law School Legends Audio Series

Dynamic lectures from top law professors.

Law Stories Series

Learn the stories behind the landmark cases.

Legalines

Combines case briefs with a review of black-letter law principles, keyed to specific casebooks.

Nutshells

The nutshell series covers nearly every legal course subject, with titles focusing on providing an overview of a specific area of the law. Nutshells are useful for gaining a broader, "big picture" view of a subject.

Office Hours

Multimedia clarification of tough topics.

Quick Reviews

Short, clear and concise substantive outlines.

Short Happy Guides

Titles in this series explain legal principles, practices and policies in terms students can grasp quickly.

Sum & Substance Audio Series

Titles in this series are streaming audio lectures by top doctrinal law faculty.