Skip to main content
The University of Alabama School of Law WordmarkThe University of Alabama School of Law

Remote Learning Resources

Information concerning online classes and remote resources

Overview

A wide variety of news sources are available to University of Alabama faculty and students.  Below are some of the more commonly used sources. A more comprehensive guide to sources is available from Gorgas Library's "Current Newspaper Content" guide.

Materials of Interest (Links Open in New Windows)

Chronicle of Higher Education (myBama login required)

The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue. The Web site is updated throughout the day with the latest news in academe (NO EMBARGO of content). Also included are the text and associated commentary from the current print edition and a searchable archive of back issues.

 

E&E News (myBama login required)

Daily news updates on a variety of environmental and energy policy topics as well as links to online publications from E&E Publishing. Also includes video clips and compiled reports on specific subjects.

 

New York Times (myBama login required)

Access via Gale Academic Onefile allows browsing by issue of the daily national edition of the NYT as far back as 1985 (there is NO EMBARGO on content). Full-text content does not include images. Advanced searching is available.

 

New York Times Digital Version (myBama login required)

Digitized, page-image version of the New York Times, 2008 - recent with a 3-month embargo.

 

New York Review of Books (myBama login required)

The NYRB's website features the complete contents of the latest issue (NO EMBARGO of content) and archives of most issues as far back as 1963. Access includes NYR Daily and the ability to perform advanced search functions on current and archived issues.

 

Wall Street Journal (myBama login required)

Access via ProQuest allows advanced searching and browsing of the Wall Street Journal's online version (text only) from 2010 to the present, with NO EMBARGO on content. Content is full-text, but does not include images.

 

Wall Street Journal Digital Version (myBama login required)

Digitized, page-image version of the Wall Street Journal, 2008 - recent with a 3-month embargo.

 

Tuscaloosa News (myBama login required)

Access via NewsBank allows user to browse recent issues (with NO EMBARGO delay on content) as far back as 2008. Advanced search options available. Content is full-text, but will not include images.

 

Birmingham News (myBama login required)

Access via NewsBank to many issues from 1993 through the present. Not all issues are visible or available. Content is full-text, but does not include images.

Accessing the Resources

The easiest way to remotely access most newspapers and magazines is through the University of Alabama Libraries' website, lib.ua.edu.

Once on the University Libraries' landing page, select the "e-Journals" option indicated in the photo below:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Once you have entered the e-Journals area, you are nearly there. Log in, where indicated in the photo below (you will log in with your myBama credentials), and you will have access to all of the University Libraries' publications:

 

 


If you have a specific publication in mind, enter it into the search bar and click search. When you find the result you are looking for, click on it and it will take to you a page like the one showing for the New York Review of Books below. For access to the publication itself, click "Full Text Access," as marked below:

 

 

 


Since the library subscribes to many services, there may be many ways to access the publication. Sometimes, as shown below in the example of the New York Review of Books, you will have direct access to the publication's website:

 

 

 


For other publications, as in the example of the New York Times shown below, you will have many choices for full-text access. But access may be via other services that the University Library subscribes to, rather than from the original publisher:

 

 

Note that not all options have the same range of coverage. If you are looking for a publication's most recent issue, be sure to select an option that indicates that its coverage extends to the present. And since these services may have differing interfaces, you can always select a different one if you find a service's interface unwieldy.

As always, you are welcome and encouraged to contact us with any questions that may arise.